Morley takes first at state

Posted on May 8, 2007 by

0


Kelly Frye

Staff Writer

 

            Last weekend, Kelsey Morley (12) competed at the state gymnastics tournament.  Competitors included all of the Level 10s in Indiana, the highest competitive level for gymnastics.

            “I won the balance beam at my state meet,” Morley said. “I won third all around, and fourth on floor.”

            Like many star athletes at CHS, Morley began her career in gymnastics at an early age, and still considers it as a part-time job.

            “I started gymnastics when I was five,” Morley said. “In the summer, I practice 20 hours a week. During the school year, it’s 16 hours a week.”

            When she hit Level 10 in 2003, she became one of the few competitors in the area. The closest competitor to her is a 12-year-old girl who is competing as a Level 8.

            “I’m the only Level 10 out of any of the school systems here,” Morley said.

            She confessed that she views gymnastics as superior in difficulty when it comes to sports. She noted the lack of a limit, saying that she can always add one more flip or twist in her routine.

            “I personally think it’s the hardest sport because it involves strength and balance,” Morley said. “The sport’s always growing.”

            She plans on pursuing gymnastics in her future at college.

            “I’m going to be a walk-on at Michigan State,” Morley said.

           

Posted in: Athletics