Martin anticipates Pops Concert

Posted on May 8, 2007 by

0


Kelly Frye

Staff Writer

Though she is anxious to move on with her life, Missi Martin (12) still remains focused and ready for this weekend’s Pops Concert.

“I’m ready to be out of high school, but I’m sad that it’s my last concert,” Martin said.

Martin, who transferred from Northridge two years ago, has enjoyed her first year in Singers and doing specialties in Pops.

“I’ve been in choir ever since I could be in choir,” Martin said. “I was in choir at my old school.”

She has been accepted into the choir program at Anderson University, where she will major in mass communications. Although she makes no plans to further her singing career post-college, she is open to the possibility of church choirs and shows.

“If the opportunity arises, I’ll take it,” Martin said.

For now, however, she is enjoying reflecting on the year of Singers as Pops draws nearer.

“There’s been little arguments [in Singers this year], but it’s been really good,” Martin said. “We’ve had a lot of different shows and little performances.”

Currently, Bethany Hartman (choir director) is the main director of the CHS choirs. Martin hopes that another choir director will be added to the staff of CHS to help Hartman with the vast number of events that choir participates in.

“Hopefully, the program keeps growing and I hope Singers gets even better,” Martin said.

For now, however, Martin is anticipating the Pops Concert this Friday, May 11 and Saturday, May 12. She performs on both Friday and Saturday.

“I have a solo and a duet,” Martin said. Her solo, “Fallin’” by Alicia Keys, is scheduled for Saturday while her duet with Morgan Miller (12) is scheduled for Friday. Her duet is “Starts With Goodbye” by Carrie Underwood.

“I’m excited,” Martin said. “I think the whole show will be really good, we’ve been working really hard. I think me and Morgan will do good and I hope I do good on my solo.”

Martin recommends Saturday night for those who are considering attending the concert.

“I would say go to Saturday because since it’s the last time we do it, we’ll have senior recognition,” Martin said. Also, she believes the second time will be better because of the extra practice.

The concert will take place on May 11 and 12 in the Beickman Performing Arts Center. Tickets cost $5 each.

Posted in: B.P.A.C., Music