Long-term goals for boys’ swimming

Posted on December 3, 2007 by

0


Many athletics set goals for themselves at the beginning of their season, and the CHS boys swimming team is no different. The boys, fresh in their season at 1-1, seem to set goals hinging around performance at state.

“I went to state last year,” Korey Schrock (11) said. “My goal is to go to state again and place in the Top 16.”

Schrock is currently CHS’ top diver, winning the event in both of the last two meets. At Northridge on Saturday, Schrock score 199.45 points.

“I love [diving],” Schrock said. “It really doesn’t have anything to do with swimming. We just do different maneuvers off the diving boards.”

The underclassmen also hold great expectations for their season, as they are a major component of CHS victories.

“I want to get the school record for the 50 free and the All-American Time for the 50 free,” Mike Richline (9) said. “I’m not sure exactly what the time is, but I know it’s a fast time and I want to get it.”

Richline’s victories are an integral part of the plan for CHS’ success.

“We have a big freshman class, which is great,” Schrock said. “The team overall can place well at state.”

The team obliterated Mishawaka last week 109-76, but was wiped out by Northridge 129-56.

Their next meet is Tuesday, December 4 at home. They swim against Wawasee at 4:45 p.m.

§Kelly Frye

