Twifight (special unedited, uncensored version)

Posted on March 6, 2009 by

0


We decided it would be best for the students to see, from beginning to end, the thoroughly unedited Twifight which took place in the February issue of The Minute. Much of it is completely nonsensical and there seems to be a lack of cohesion, but maybe this will give Our Dedicated Readers an idea of what the editing process can take care of, as well as give them a glimpse into the personalities of four very different J-labbers. Due to problems with signing everyone into the chat, the first large portion is almost entirely nonsense. For clarity, “me” would be Jared and “Hill” would be Renee. All I can say is, enjoy.
— Jared Schooley, Copy Editor

The Twifight:

5:49 PM KaiLovely has joined
Caytee has joined
Caytee: Heyyy sexxiiiess
me: hey, ev’rybody.
Caytee: you guys are soo sexiiii
5:50 PM dsjifsd
me: i’m typing
a;sdlfkj
Caytee: Oh
me: we good?
KaiLovely: No.
Renee isn’t here.
me: waiting…
Caytee: Coffee is amazing at 5PM on a Thursday afternoon.
me: this is odd with all of us in the same room…
5:51 PM KaiLovely: RENEE
me: UGH
5:53 PM spectoaffectus@gmail.com has joined
me: AH
AH HA
Caytee: We’re all here!
me: Sweet!
Caytee: Peanut butter cup cakes
5:54 PM me: Well, this is awkward.
Caytee: Yep
I feel like I should turn my computer away from everyone
spectoaffectus@gmail.com has left
Caytee: and start looking at dirty pictures and giggle a lot, or something.
me: So, as a preface, this is a discussion regarding the merit and unexplained pop culture explosion known as the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer.
5:55 PM KaiLovely: Or a Twifight, if you will.
me: Bingo.
We thought it was clever.
(note: we’re going to go through and edit this…so Caytee’s non sequiturs will not be there)
KaiLovely: Obviously.
5:56 PM spectoaffectus@gmail.com has joined
Caytee: I didn’t know we were starting, OBVIOUSLY.
me: yes
spectoaffectus@gmail.com has left
me: haha, it’s okay.
KaiLovely: I think we’re game.
me: Try to stick with proper grammar and capitalization all the way through
Caytee: Now we’re starting?
me: I think so.
Do we have questions?
5:57 PM Caytee: Not really.
5:58 PM KaiLovely: The theme of this month’s Minute is all about obsessions, so we decided what better to discuss than a book series that has arguably become one of the most obsessive since Harry Potter.
me: Amen, sister.
6:00 PM Okay, so are we doing this thing without Renee? That seems kind of unbalanced….
KaiLovely: We’re starting without her.
me: Okay, she can chime in later.
Caytee: I’m fine with it
KaiLovely: She can jump in as soon as she gets back.
me: Sounds good.
So, what should we approach first?
6:01 PM KaiLovely: I think it’s important to establish why someone pro (Caytee) thinks it’s so popular.
me: Sounds good. Caytee?
Caytee: Well the most obvious is the love of Edward with the pre-teen and teenage girls.
KaiLovely: Why do you think Edward is so popular? I personally think he’s flat.
6:02 PM me: There is a certain amount of obsession over him. A visit to any Facebook page can ascertain that much.
6:03 PM Caytee: I believe that the author made all of her characters unique in their own way with an interesting past life and future with twists and turns. You never know where they’ll end up next, or what they’re next move will be.
me: Do you think she successfully avoids stereotype in the process?
6:04 PM Caytee: Especially Edward because she adds in the “girls dream” features. Being the man of every girls dream.
6:05 PM me: How does he fit that niche, then?
KaiLovely: No. Edward is your everyday angsty teen with fangs. But it’s not difficult to imagine that those are the things girls go for these days.
Caytee: I don’t think that anyone can avoid stereotypes, because everyone is going to eventually stereotype the characters.
6:06 PM me: Edward seems rather unwilling to do the things he asks of other people, especially Bella.
Caytee: She actually stereotypes the characters themselves, in the book to make the scenes more realistic, making it in a school setting to relate to the everyday student.
me: It seems really hypocritical to me, and turns me off.
Caytee: Which obviously attracted more fans.
me: Right.
6:07 PM KaiLovely: I think Edward’s devotion to Bella is admirable. What girl doesn’t want a romance like that? The problem is it’s unrealistic and it gives people, especially young girls an unrealistic view of what the world is like, especially love.
Caytee: I think the fact that it’s unrealistic that makes it a good book, and a popular one, because who wants to read about every day life when we’re living it? Everyone wants to escape.
6:08 PM me: I personally don’t see it as love at all. From Edward’s standpoint, he hungers for her and wants little more than to eat her, restraining himself in the process. From Bella’s standpoint, it’s an infatuation…A few months of hardly knowing him and she’s willing to kill herself to be with him.
6:09 PM Infatuation, unfortunately, does not equate to “love.”
6:11 PM Caytee: I think we are stearing away from what we are really discussing here. Perhaps their relationship isn’t “love”, but their relationship became popular, love or infatuation. Either way, they’re popular. It does not make the book, in itself, a bad obsession.
KaiLovely: It’s not the escaping part that bothers me. It’s the promotion of unethical behavior. Every book is a vehicle with some type of message. It’s one thing to write a story just because you want to, but when you have such a large audience, why wouldn’t you want to say something useful? Ms. Meyer has the opportunity to influence a large majority of the young population, and I worry about the message she is choosing to deliver. Ideal romances are unlikely and the other ethics brought up are questionable to say the least.
me: But I think that the viewpoints and standards that it teaches to adolescent girls can be completely unhealthy, and can turn the obsession into unrealistic expectations and unhealthy views on relationships.
6:12 PM Thank you, Kayla.
6:13 PM Couldn’t have worded it better myself.
Rebuttal, Caytee?
Caytee: She puts deep characters into a similar situation for her young readers. Although I agree with she should be sending a good message, she sends messages such as keeping good relationships with family, with Bella and her mother, and Edward and his close-nit family and his relations.
6:14 PM KaiLovely: There is the issue with Jacob when he is first introduced into the novel. Though he is an old family friend, Bella is unafraid to use his infatuation with her against him and in her favor for information about the Cullens.
me: The issue with Edward’s obvious manipulation of people with his looks also brings up a similar issue. He charms people into doing whatever he wants and never suffers the consequences.
6:15 PM spectoaffectus@gmail.com has joined
6:16 PM spectoaffectus@gmail.com has left
6:17 PM Caytee: How does he not pay the consequences? He is punished by being able to hear peoples thoughts without wanting to, plus being a “vampire” could be a consequence in itself.
me: I admit you’re right on the issue with family, Caytee, but I’m not certain I’d agree wholeheartedly. Bella circumvents her father several times for her own reasons.
Caytee: And in future books he’s punished pretty much all the time.
me: Suffering for what he is can’t really be justification for his manipulation, though.
6:18 PM Just like a killer can’t be acquitted for having a crappy childhood.
KaiLovely: I don’t know if being able to hear other’s thoughts is a punishment. Edward often uses this ability to his own betterment and even more often, for his own amusement on several occasions. I’d think of it as more of a mixed blessing.
Caytee: But we all have family issues, Jared, and that’s realistic. She’s simply showing that we all have problems- we all have to deal with these problems and still keep our family relations in tact. She’s trying to keep the realistic and the “dreamy” guys with keeping the readers coming.
6:19 PM me: Granted — She can’t produce a character without flaws.
KaiLovely: What about the presentation of sex?
5 minutes
6:24 PM Hill has joined
6:25 PM me: Welcome in, Renee.
Caytee: I think that Meyer tries to keep the books, while still realistic, Christian. While trying to keep it in the now-times, it’s surprising that she continously pushed the Bella character to want to “lust” for Edward, while Edward seemed somewhat mild for the subject of sex. In the end she obviously kept it Christian as they didn’t have sex until after marriage.
Hill: now times?
6:26 PM Caytee: =[
me: Current Era.
Caytee: up to date?
Hill: got it
me: Isn’t there an issue with Bella’s age, not to mention her rather zealous sexual pursuit of Edward?
6:29 PM Caytee: It must be another way of Meyer to show that each character has their own flaws, like Edward has in overpowering people, she lusts people?
Hill: Most would find a problem with her age but I think because she is married to him there is a little leeway
Caytee: (EDIT THIS OUT) So basically, Bella is a slut.
KaiLovely: Pretty much. :-p
Hill: lmao!
6:30 PM me: I think the big issue is how persistent she is in getting Edward in bed.
6:31 PM KaiLovely: Even after marriage, Edward is uncomfortable having sex with Bella, yet she persists the issue and he gives in. What type of a message does this send to anyone, especially teens?
Caytee: I think it is mainly that if you were a teenage girl, who had this “teenage” looking boy who had the maturity of a 400 year old man, and you had your hormones running like a teenage girl, you’d have the lust flaw, too.
6:32 PM I suppose she’s sending the message that you should persist in things that you believe in.
me: But does that excuse it? Especially in the case that this book is going out to similar teenage girls?
6:33 PM Hill: i think Meyer is trying to show that every girl has the desire to be with someone but most dont show it unless they feel really comfortable with the other person
6:34 PM me: So, Bella shows outwardly what every girl thinks inwardly?
Like, they want to have sex a lot?
KaiLovely: Even if that is the case, it comes off promoting the fact that it’s okay to pressure someone, especially someone you love, into having sex with you.
6:35 PM Caytee: Or maybe Meyer is just trying to show that it’s okay to feel these feelings, that it’s not wrong
Not that you should go out and have sex, because that’s not the christian thing to do.
KaiLovely: No, but it’s certainly not right either.
Caytee: Obviously if she wanted to send out the message, ‘GO HAVE SEX’ she would’ve said that.
Hill: it may not be right but no one is perfect and she is showing that
me: Promoting “what feels good” certainly isn’t the best route when writing teen literature.
6:36 PM KaiLovely: Next subject.
Renee, bring up something.
Hill: I dont think its about telling teens what they should do but showing them that they are not alone when it comes to these feelings esp girls
Caytee: (I really need coffee or something, guys.)
6:37 PM Hill: I dont know what to talk about
6:38 PM Writing style or Jacob?
KaiLovely: There is the issue with Jacob when he is first introduced into the novel. Though he is an old family friend, Bella is unafraid to use his infatuation with her against him and in her favor for information about the Cullens.
6:40 PM Hill: I dont think it was really against him. I understand that she liked Edward but she was trying to find out more about him because h wouldnt tell her anything and in turn found out more about Jacob as well
Caytee: I believe Meyer explains that Bella feels like Jacob, although they played as children, they didn’t talk as they grew up so they didn’t feel as close while she used him for information.
me: But she feels guilt for a while about “leading him on,” correct?
6:41 PM KaiLovely: But the issue is her disregard for him as a person, she used him for her own selfish gain before he ever became a prominent character in the novel.
6:42 PM Caytee: Once again, back to flaws in characters. Meyer is trying to put more onto her characters, making them more indepth.
me: And what about the issues later on in the series, where he gains steam as a legitimate love interest but seems discarded in the process?
I don’t think they’re deep at all. They seem to have one response to most situations.
Their character flaws set those responses.
6:43 PM KaiLovely: That might be the case, but wouldn’t it then be necessary for her to be reprehended for her actions?
me: (discarded later in the process, above)
Accountability seems lax for most of the characters.
6:44 PM KaiLovely: Can we argue that the guilt she feels is enough punishment?
6:45 PM me: But those teens with no guilt can take that to mean that they can do whatever they want and, since they feel no guilt, they’ll have no repercussions.
Caytee: Guilt, the constant struggle between the two boys. I suppose it’s not a punishment in most peoples eyes but being pulled between two boys is hard for girls.
Hill: I think Jared and Kayla are trying to find flaws in the book by looking at the characters flaws but in reality everyone has flaws. Meyer is not trying to make this book something of the fantasy world but rather the real world
Caytee: Not to mention, she feels guilt and, when can, tries to see Jacob whenever possible.
6:47 PM KaiLovely: What about the actual writing style? Any beef?
Hill: Any beef? lol
6:48 PM Caytee: I think that at times she could have done better with her vocabulary but most of it is fitting for her young adult readers.
6:49 PM me: I think the writing style falls in the same vein as J.K. Rowling’s work, except for the “diary” style that appears prevalent.
KaiLovely: I can’t say much against it. It’s never something you’re going to use on your AP exam, but I really can’t see a big issue with it.
me: My biggest beef is the lugubrious nature of the Bella narrative.
KaiLovely: It’s written to a specific audience and the style works, for the most part.
Caytee: (((You just HAD to use that word, Jskoo.))))
me: It’s too…overly dreary.
It fits here.
Hill: I believe she could have increased the vocab but for the most part she captured the message she was trying to send to the reader
6:50 PM Caytee: (((I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT IT MEANS!!!)
me: Despair, miserable, horrible, etcetera.
Caytee: Thanks ;x
me: She really draws away from the character by making her sound sappy one minute and overly morose the next.
KaiLovely: I don’t think the vocabulary presented a problem. It was appropriate for the age group.
me: I agree with that stance.
Hill: No offense but thats how most girls tend to think
Caytee: I think I actually agree with Jared. Should I not put any more imput?
me: My problem was the way it was presented…It was overkill.l
6:51 PM In overkill?
Caytee: Since I’m suppose to be against?
KaiLovely: What teen girls?
me: Go ahead and express your honest opinions, Caytee.
6:52 PM Caytee: I think that she did a great job for description, where she made the characters deep and interesting. While she made the narrative blank and dull and basically a rollercoaster where one minute Edward was upset and the next he was calm. However, that could’ve been his character and perhaps that’s the way she wanted it to be.
6:53 PM me: I agree with the idea that the description was quite good. It maintained my interest.
6:54 PM Hill: yeah what you are all missing here is that it is a first person narrator, and she’s a teen…therefore she writes LIKE a teen. it gives it a sense of verisimilitude
me: “Now my horrific day tomorrow would be just that much less miserable.” Sentences like this one turn me off.
Hill: yeah you like that word dont you?
6:55 PM me: Ooh, big word Renee!
I’m a teen and I relate pretty easily to girls. I’ve never heard a girl write like this.
6:56 PM EVER
Caytee: No teen would say anything like that.
Hill: this is hw my mind works most of the time to tell the truth
Caytee: I think she’s being overdramatic to say the lesat.
least*
me: Well…
Caytee: How*&
How*
me: looks at Renee
Hill: how*
thanks Caytee
6:57 PM Her keyboard is stupid 😉
6:58 PM Caytee: Perhaps her problem is her ability to be overdramatic in almost every situation, including Bella’s birthday, her shyness, her depression, her happiness, in every situation she takes it and blows it into a big deal when in reality it isn’t that big of a deal. But that could be the reason that it drew in the readers because in real life nothing is that big of a deal, which maybe it should be.
7:00 PM Hill: example…You know when you’re having a bad day and everything seems to go wrong and then you look back on your day and in actuallity it wasnt all that bad? I think that is kind of what she was going for
Caytee: Or maybe most of her young adult readers want everything of their business to be a big deal, but sense it can’t, and sense it is a first person narrator, they act like they are Bella (Like I did) in which case, everything of MINE is a big deal.
7:01 PM since*
wow.
me: So now we’re promoting self-absorbedness?
Narcissism?
TWIDOMINATION
7:02 PM Hill: Twi-not
KaiLovely: TWI-LOVELY
7:03 PM Caytee: Twi-lesbians 😉
We should wrap this up.
It’s turning into nothing.
TWO***
TWO
TWO
TWO
7:04 PM me: Alright, I think we’ve all said our piece on this, am I right?>
Hill: Si
7:05 PM Caytee has left
me: Alright, best of luck to everyone. Thanks for chatting. I love you all.

Posted in: Uncategorized